Michelin Announces Jurors of “Le Mans 2030” Competition

Top designers to select winning entries of 2017 Michelin Challenge Design competition

GREENVILLE, S.C., Sept. 7, 2016 — Michelin today announced the ninw jurors who will select the winning entries of the global 2017 Michelin Challenge Design, “Le Mans 2030: Design for the Win” competition being held in cooperation with the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO), organizers of the Le Mans 24 Hour race.

The winning designs from the 2017 entries will be chosen from more than 1,600 registrants representing 80 countries. A pre-screening of the entries was conducted by Ben Ebel and Drew Stanley, both design members of the Michelin Challenge Design steering team.

“I am tremendously impressed by the variety and quality of work that was submitted for this year’s competition,” said Ebel, innovation deployment director of original equipment for Michelin North America and co-chair of Michelin Challenge Design. “It will be a difficult challenge for our jurors to select the winning entries because the level of creativity and innovation is exceptionally good. The jurors will have their work cut out for them.”


The distinguished jury, which comprises top international automotive designers and industry experts, will meet in Austin, Texas, during the Circuit of The Americas IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) races the week of Sept. 12 to select the design competition winners.

The 2017 Michelin Challenge Design Jury:

  • Stewart Reed: Chair, Transportation Design Department, Art Center College of Design, Consultant and Jury Chairman, Michelin Challenge Design
  • Bertrand Barre: President & Co-Founder, Groupe Zebra
  • Chris Chapman: Chief Designer, Hyundai America Technical Center
  • Dave Marek: Acura Global Creative Director, Honda R&D Americas, Inc.
  • Craig Metros, Design Director – North American Exterior, Ford Motor Company
  • Joji Nagashima: Creative Director, Concept Cars, BMW Groupe Design
  • Rich Plavetich: Vice President, Nissan Design America
  • Thomas Peters : Director of Design, General Motors Corporation
  • Gilles Vidal: Director of Design, PSA Peugeot Citroen

The winners (or team representative) will be invited to attend the 2017 North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) as guests of Michelin and will be recognized during Michelin’s annual private Designer’s Reception where they will participate in a private portfolio review with members of the jury. In addition, the first-place winner will be recognized at the 2017 Le Mans 24 Hours race. All members of each winning team will be invited to join an exclusive online community restricted to Michelin Challenge Design winners and jurors.

About Michelin
Dedicated to the improvement of sustainable mobility, Michelin designs, manufactures and sells tires for every type of vehicle, including airplanes, automobiles, bicycles, earthmovers, farm equipment, heavy-duty trucks and motorcycles. The company has earned a long-standing reputation for building innovative premium tires. Since 1989, Michelin has received 80 J.D. Power tire customer satisfaction awards—five times the number of all other tire manufacturers combined. In addition to tires, the company also publishes travel guides, hotel and restaurant guides, maps and road atlases. Headquartered in Greenville, S.C., Michelin North America (www.michelinman.com) employs about 22,700 and operates 19 major manufacturing plants.