2016: Mobility for All

For the 2016 Michelin Challenge Design, participants were tasked to design vehicles that look to provide “Mobility for All.” The challenge is to design a personal, family or commercial vehicle that provides simple, functional and affordable mobility to an underserved area in Southeast Asia, Central America, Central Africa or another identified area.

click on vehicle image for additional photos and participant information

1st Place Winner:
1. Rajshekhar Dass and Team
Entry: Google Community Vehicle
Design Team: Rajshekhar Dass, Abu Huraira Shaikh, Sunny Duseja, Joji Isaac
Country: India

2nd Place Winner:
2. Edgar Andres Sarmiento Garcia
Entry: Arriero
Design Team: Edgar Andres Sarmiento Garcia
Country: Colombia

3rd Place Winner:
3. WooSung Lee & ChanYeop Jeong 
Entry: Bamboo Recumbent
Design Team: WooSung Lee & ChanYeop Jeong
Country: South Korea

Additional winners of the 2015 Michelin Challenge Design are (in alphabetical order):

4. Nathan Allen
Entry: Stator Scooter
Design Team: Nathan Allen
Country: United States

5. M.Y. Alief Samboro & Agri Bisono
Entry: LOGon
Design Team: M.Y. Alief Samboro & Agri Bisono
Country: Indonesia

6. Sergio Botero
Entry: Capicua
Design Team: Sergio Botero
Country: Colombia

7. Nicholas Lee Dunderdale
Entry: Panda
Design Team: Nicholas Lee Dunderdale
Country: England

8. Ryan Ebbers
Entry: DMine
Design Team: Ryan Ebbers
Country: Canada

9. Mike Lai, Joe Wu & Johnny Li
Entry: M-Clinic
Design Team: Mike Lai, Joe Wu & Johnny Li
Country: Taiwan

10. Hung-Ju Lee
Entry: Loxodon
Design Team: Hung-Ju Lee
Country: Taiwan

11. Conner Macfarlane & Collin Lafayette
Entry: URRU
Design Team: Conner Macfarlane & Collin Lafayette
Country: United States

12. Armando Mercado
Entry: Tire Assembly is Required
Design Team: Armando Mercado
Country: Mexico

13. Marin Myftiu & Hussain Almossawi
Entry: Huracan City Rover
Design Team: Marin Myftiu, Hussain Almossawi, Huracan Motors
Countries: Tirana, Albania; Manama, Bahrain; and Venice, Italy, (respectively)

14. Arkadiusz Stoklosa, Michal Maciukiewicz & Thomasz Kwolek
Entry: Volkswagen Monsoon
Design Team: Arkadiusz Stoklosa, Michal Maciukiewicz & Thomasz Kwolek
Country: Poland